Yeovil community radio station wins FM licence

Radio Ninesprings – community radio station for Yeovil and South Somerset – has been awarded a 5-year FM community radio licence by Ofcom.

Mayor of Yeovil Cllr Darren Shutler being interviewed by students from Yeovil College on Ninesprings FM, February 2017

 In May, Radio Ninesprings was awarded an AM community radio licence by Ofcom and will now surrender this licence in exchange for the FM licence.

Radio Ninesprings plans to launch live ‘on air’ as Ninesprings FM by May/June 2018. 

Ninesprings FM will –

·      Strengthen the community spirit and identity of Yeovil and South Somerset

·      Support economic development through partnership working

·      Provide coverage of local activities and issues of importance

·      Bring social gain through training and improvement of community knowledge

·    Broaden local broadcasting choice

There are no entry requirements to joining Ninesprings FM only that volunteers are passionate about local radio and have a genuine interest in the life of Yeovil and South Somerset. 

Ninesprings FM is a ‘not-for-profit’ educational charitable company: The charitable purposes of Radio Ninesprings are to advance the educational and training of the inhabitants of Yeovil and district of South Somerset in radio production, broadcasting and media skills techniques.

Ninesprings FM has 5x directors: John Bradford (retired Chief Executive) Steve Haigh (formerly BBC) Adrian Dening (media training) Samantha McKenzie-Green (Organiser of Yeovil Show) Dale Parson (Chartered Accountant).

“Community radio stations are the third tier of radio broadcasting in addition to commercial radio and the BBC. They reflect a mix of cultures and interests and give a new voice to communities. They raise income through advertising /sponsorship, training, and funds awarded by public bodies. They are ‘not for profit’ and their programmes are influenced by the communities they serve”.