Dorset’s Best Village Competition 2016 – “30th Anniversary” Entry Deadline approaches

DorsetDorset Best Village Competition entry deadline is fast approaching. Entries have to be in by 5pm on Monday 11th April. There is more than £2,000 in prize money that will be given away to winners in the available categories.

The competition is organised by Dorset Community Action (DCA) and entry packs have been sent to parish councils, village hall committees and numerous other active community groups.

Magna Housing has been the major sponsor for the competition since 2010 and has renewed its support again this year. Additional sponsorship comes from Dorset County Council, the four District Councils, The Dorset Echo, Dorset Magazine, Blackmore Vale Magazine Communities, Dorset Waste Partnership and the Campaign to Protect Rural England along with local food producers Clipper Tea, Fudges Biscuits, Honeybuns, Craig’s Dairies and Helen Furness Catering.

DCA’s Competition Organiser Rita Burden says: “Once again we are delighted with the entries we have already received but we would like to encourage those village communities who have not entered for a while, or have never entered, to come and join in to this exciting 30th ANNIVERSARY competition. The “Environmental Champions Award” and “The Best Village Shop” category together with the “Peoples Project Award” and the Neighbourliness Award will involve wider interest groups. ”

Besides the “Best Kept Village” competition, won last year by Burton Bradstock (large village) and Winterborne Zelston (small village), there are other distinct categories to enter. “The People’s Project” – the village judged to have entry involving local active people – Bere Regis Neighbourhood Car Scheme won in 2015. Last year’s winner for the “Environmental Champions” award, given to the village judged to be doing the best ‘Green’ initiative – was Burton Bradstock’s Corncrake Project. In 2014 a new category, sponsored by the Dorset branch of the Campaign to Protect Rural England, of “Best Village Shop” was introduced where communities were asked to nominate the village shop which served them best. Last year’s winner was Thorncombe Community Shop. In 2015 a further category was introduced the “Neighbourliness Award”, with the worthy winner being Okeford Fitzpaine.

The deadline for entries for the Best Kept category is 5.00pm on Monday 11th April 2016. DCA is encouraging groups to save paper and postage by entering the competition online if possible. Entry packs can be downloaded from or by telephoning DCA on 01305 250921 to be sent a copy by email or paper.